Welcome to the York Soil & Water Conservation District site.  Our mission is to promote the wise and responsible use of natural resources for the benefit of all citizens of York County through education, demonstration projects and technical services.

The Conservation District brings together all available technical, financial and education resources and coordinates them so that they meet the needs of the local land user for conservation of soil, water and related natural resources.

The Conservation District is a subdivision of state government in partnership with the South Carolina Department of Natural Resources and the USDA Natural Resource Conservation Service.

The York Soil & Water Conservation District has been serving York County landowners for over 60 years.  Learn more about our programs through our most recent newsletters.


Commissioner meetings are open to the public - the next meeting will be January 19 at5:00 pm at the USDA Service Center (see address below)  Here is the agenda:


USDA Service Center

1460 E. Alexander Love Hwy

York, SC 29745

803-684-3137 x 101

Office Hours: 8:00 - 4:40 M-F

District Coordinator: Barbara O'Connell


Contact Us

The Conservation District consists of a board of five commissioners - three elected in the general election and two appointed by the South Carolina Department of Natural Resources.   Commissioners volunteer their time, talents, and services to help improve natural resource awareness. 


Bennie Copeland, Chairperson

Beth White, Vice-Chair

C.W. Senn, Jr., Treasurer 

Peggy Palmer

Commissioner Emeritus

Evelyn Edmunds

Associate Commissioners

Robert Walker

Liz Christenberry

Lee Petitgout

Duane Christopher

Martha Dial

USDA/NRCS Personnel

Rebecca Briggs, District Conservationist

Commissioners meet every month on the 3rd Thursday of the month, 5:00 p.m.   

All board meetings are open to the public - individuals wishing to attend should call the office to confirm date and time.


Commissionerspictured left to right: back row: Bennie Copeland, chairperson; Mark Wyndham; C. W. Senn, Treasurer.  Front row: Peggy Palmer, Beth White, vice-chairperson.

Make a Free Website with Yola.